Practice Areas

By: Angelita Chavez-Halaka


The 2021 Diversity Visa (DV) program registration period is set to open October 2019.

What is the Diversity Visa Program?

The Diversity Visa (DV) program allots 50,000 immigrant visas each Fiscal Year (FY) for individuals to immigrate to the United States from countries with historically low rates of immigration.

What Countries Qualify for the Program?

The Department of State (DOS) publishes a list of eligible countries each year. Some of the countries that qualified for the 2020 FY include:

  • Chile
  • Cyprus
  • Zambia
  • Libya
  • Cambodia
  • Japan
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Thailand
  • Monaco
  • Ecuador
  • Nepal
  • North Korea
  • Uruguay
  • Australia
  • Samoa
  • Belize
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia

Individuals from countries such as Mexico, the Philippines, Nigeria, India, Vietnam, and Canada were not eligible for the 2020 DV program.

What is the 2021 Registration Period?

Registration is available for only one month during each FY. The 2021 FY registration period for the Diversity Program is set to open sometime in October 2019.


  • Speak early with an experienced immigration lawyer about how to prepare your Diversity Visa application
  • Monitor announcements from the Department of State regarding the DV Program

Stay Updated

We will continue to monitor the dates of registration for the 2021 Diversity Visa Program. For more information on the 2021 DV registration period, please email us at info@chugh.com. We also encourage you to share our newsletter with contacts who those who might benefit from this information.

Scroll to Top

Request a Consultation

Please use the form below to request a consultation.

By submitting this contact form, you are opting in to receive email communications from Chugh, LLP. Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not submit confidential information through this form.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

Get the latest news and updates about Chugh LLP