President Biden Plans to Impose New COVID-19 Travel Restrictions for India

Practice Areas

By: Jacqueline Valle

The Biden Administration is expected to restrict travel from India due to the sudden rise in COVID-19 cases and new variants in the country. The policy is a direct response to recommendations from the United States Centers for Disease Control (CDC), and is expected to go into effect on Tuesday, May 4, 2021 at 12:01 AM Eastern Time. Travelers who have been physically present in India during the last 14 days will have until Monday, May 3 to enter the United States before the ban goes into effect.

These travel restrictions will not apply to United States citizens, lawful permanent residents, humanitarian workers, or other related exemptions. Exempted travelers will still be required to test negative for COVID-19 before leaving India, and quarantine in America for 14 days if they have not been vaccinated.

Under this policy, individuals who are not US citizens or green card holders will not be eligible to travel to the United States if they have been in India during the last 14 days. Other countries impacted by a January travel ban include South Africa, European Schengen area countries, Brazil, United Kingdom, Iran, China, and Ireland.


The Chugh, LLP immigration team will continue to provide updates as the situation develops.


Scroll to Top

Request a Consultation

Please use the form below to request a consultation.

By submitting this contact form, you are opting in to receive email communications from Chugh, LLP. Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not submit confidential information through this form.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

Get the latest news and updates about Chugh LLP